Custom Search

Delimitation of the Uttarakhand legislative assembly constituencies or seats: formulae, some issues and its current status and effect in the polls 2012

Delimitation (parisiman) in simple terms helps in division of the number of seat in any state for the elections. It is currently based on the population of an area. Generally more is the population more would be the seats in that area or state. So for example a bigger and more populated Uttar Pradesh has 403 seats for state assembly elections while Uttarakhand has 70.
First Delimitation in India was done in 1951 then in 1962, 1976 and 2006.

First delimitation in Uttarakhand- after the formation of the state on 5 November, 2001according to census of 1971.

Second delimitation- according to the delimitation act 2002 tabled by the then Law Minister Arun Jaitley, new delimitation was done on 26 December, 2006 under the chairmanship of retired Judge Kuldeep Singh. This was purely based on the population census of 2001 without including the area factor in the process.

Next delimitation- in 2026

Total assembly seats in Uttarakhand- 70
Total seats in the plains of Uttarakhand- 36 earlier they were 30 seats.
Total seats in the hills of Uttarakhand- 34 earlier they were 40 seats.

Assembly seats those are new-
Raipur in Dehradun,
Lal Kuan in Nainital, 
Nanakmata and Kichha in Udhamsingh Nagar,
BHEL and Haridwar Gramin in district Haridwar

Assembly seats that don’t exist now-
Dhumakot and Thalisain from Pauri Garhwal,
Pindar from Chamoli,
Bhikiyasain from Almora,
Kanalichina from Pithoragarh,
Kanda from Bageshwar

Important politicians of the state affected by the new delimitation-
Present CM B.C. Khanduri- Dhumakot seat,
Previous CM Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank- Thalisain seat,
Minister Khajandas from BJP and Balbeer Singh Negi- Dhanolti and Ghansali seat,
Speaker Harbansh Kapoor,
State Congress president Yashpal Arya- Mukteshwar seat not exist now,
Minister Govind Singh Bisht, Arvind Pandey from Bajpur seat etc.

Some other poll related articles:

Latest Comments

Powered by Disqus

Information archive